Powered by Blogger.

Saturday, March 16, 2013

[Music] 終わりの惑星のLove Song

Okay, with all the previous posts I think there's enough of my face and me OTL  So today I want to introduce some awesome music I found \o/

Front and back covers.
This concept album 終わりの惑星のLove Song (Owari no Hoshi no Love Song) was created by Flaming June, a collaboration between Maeda Jun and Yanagi Nagi. The illustrations also feature Angel Beats!  illustrator GotoP. Most people would remember Yanagi Nagi as the guest vocalist for indie group Supercell.

Over 13 songs, this concept album tells an epic story about a pair of star-crossed lovers on a planet on its way to annihilation. Each song showcases a different duo, some with pretty clear endings while others are pretty open-ended, for a reason you shall find out below.

You can hear a short clip of all the songs by listening to this video on Flaming June's official channel.

01. 終わりの世界から
Owari no Sekai kara is awesome as an opening track, setting the mood for the rest of the songs to come. The story speaks of a girl with time travelling powers and uses it to search for the one she loves. The song ends on a pretty sad note because she ends up in a grey, crumbling world and wonders if she would ever be able to (meet him and) smile again.

02. ふたりだけのArk
Futari Dake no Ark is a song that switches between fast and slow sections rather tastefully. To me, it's a very dance-able song XD The story is about two travellers, one with a steadfast dream to find the ark that flies into space, and another more experienced and pragmatic. The dreamer dies at the end of the song, but the sole traveller continues the journey for the both of them.What I like most about the song is that both travellers learnt a lot from one another in this journey (:

03. Killer Song
A fast-paced song, Killer song is about a blind man who can only see the truth and a girl who swears to protect him. When she finally kills someone to protect him, she loses her ability to walk properly. However, the two build an impregnable castle where she successfully cuts down all invaders because he can foretell where they will come from. The legend spreads and this success is said to born out of their love for each other.

04. 敵のSoldier 
Muteki no Soldier is very fast-paced and opens with the ending scene and then a flashback rather than going in chronological order. Also, rather than a couple in love, it features a duo which has more of a teacher-student relationship.

05. Flower Garden
According to online sources, Flower Garden is about a weak girl who cannot go to the surface because of pollution, and a boy who brings her items like food and an illustrated book of fake flowers. The girl attempts to go outside in search for real ones, but collapses. The boy then brings her back underground, makes her many fake flowers in the hopes that when she awakes, she will see a 'garden of flowers'.

06. 凍る夢
Kooru Yume, a frozen dream. This is a completely narrated track, bringing a different side of Yanagi Nagi to the album. The interpretation of this song is quite ambiguous, and the coolest thing is that the printed lyrics on the album actually fade off to white towards the end, suggesting the protagonist's world is simulated. There also hints in the dates of the entries eg. April 31st.

07. Executionerの恋
Executioner no Koi is a rather tragic song, where the executioner allows a prisoner to escape because she looks like his first love. As they escape together, she relates part of her life to him and it seems that this girl is truly the love from his past. After this mistake, he goes back to being an executioner but is chained to prevent escape. The girl gets caught (again) but he shoots her chains to allow her escape. At the end of the song, he is slated to be hung in her place.

08. とある海賊の気まぐれ
To Aru Kazoku no Kimagure is a song with a happier ending I suppose? The girl serves as a helper to the pirate crew and leaves with the head pirate in the end when she is shocked by the violence the pirates displayed while plundering.

09. 雪の降らない星
Yuki no Furanai Hoshi is one of the more laidback songs, without much of a long plot, but just about a loving couple who made a snowman every winter. Snow gets lesser and lesser every year, and the snowman finally melts away when the end of the planet arrives, but they are happily together. Still depressing ._.

10. 火吹き山の魔法使い
Hifuki-yama no Mahoutsukai is a hopeful song! The illustration in the album shows a grown-up version of her who lives in the volcano, so I think it suggests that she does learn enough magic to save the boy who went with her to find the diamond which allows the holder to use magic.

11. Last Smile
Another depressing song ._. Last Smile has a very sweet arrangement, and talks about a boy who tries to cheer up a researcher who cannot continue her research because she has to be kept under strict quarantine due to some disease she caught. The lyrics suggest that she dies with a smile in the end.

12. Heroの条件
Hero no Jouken is my favourite of the whole album, because it is not only good as a song by itself that is related to the concept, it has an additional deeper meaning as the lyrics reveal the continuation of the stories from 8 songs that appeared earlier in the album! As the boy travels to become a hero, he meets the people mentioned previously in 8 songs, and it tells what happened.

13. この惑星(ホシ)のBirthday Song
The sweetest song in the album! The two people in the covers finally stay together and have a child. The first few verses are about how pretty the world used to be, and the guy wonders if she really wants to have a child in this dying world. The girl firmly believes that with family, they can survive. (awww.) And the birth of their child with coincide with the next dawn/(re)birth of the planet, hence the song title Kono Hoshi no Birthday Song.

Have a listen when you can! Most of the songs are available on YouTube (:

Today is also the day for the last two shows of my choir concert (7 by ONE), so I hope I'll do well ^_^

With love,